On this page

澳大利亚的医疗卫生服务中心

澳大利亚实施的全国医疗保健系统是全球公认的最佳公共卫生系统之一。事实上,这一系统在英联邦基金会排行榜中名列世界第二位。

作为澳大利亚健康与生命科学产业的中心,新州用于公共卫生系统运作的预算超过200亿澳元,同时建立了一个由228家医院组成的卫生服务网络以及相匹配的11.4万名全职员工队伍。更重要的是,几乎所有全球制药和医疗设备公司都选择悉尼作为他们的澳大利亚运营基地。大量本地及海外投资者也对本州情有独钟。2016年,海外投资者为澳大利亚的健康和生命科学产业提供的融资资金超过34亿澳元。

新州政府一贯致力投资建设最先进的卫生基础设施。州政府计划于2018至2022年期间拨款80亿澳元,用于主要资本投资计划,这是一个史无前例的举措,不仅将为本州带来全新的医院以及医疗卫生设施,还将对现有基础设施升级换代。从2018年开始至2026年,新州卫生部计划投资超过5亿澳元,实施卫生系统电子化工程,确保其技术能继续为交付优质卫生服务提供支持。

为保持本行业持续增长势头,我们还将实施整合临床护理理念。为能达到这些目标,州政府与私营企业结成合作伙伴,共同设计并建设基础设施。这一不懈努力为新南威尔士州带来了109个持照私立外科中心以及98家持照私立医院。

主要数据:新南威尔士州的健康和生命科学产业

新州对卫生服务和卫生技术的投资需求日益增加,主要驱动力来自社会人口因素、市场条件以及技术趋势。

  • 规模经济。新州拥有澳大利亚规模最大的医疗保健产业部门,占全国总产量的28%
  • 人口老龄化。澳大利亚对医疗服务的需求持续增长。根据预测,澳大利亚年龄超过65岁的人口比例将从2017年的15.5%增加到2022年的16.8%。
  • 来自亚洲的增长需求。亚洲人口老龄化以及富裕程度普遍提高这两个因素也让澳大利亚的医疗保健服务面临前所未有的需求。新南威尔士州有能力充分利用这一趋势。我们拥有强大的监管机制、良好的质量声誉和全球知名的医疗保健服务体系。我们距离亚洲许多重要城市中心只有几个小时的航程,同时本地拥有技术熟练的多元文化劳动力人才。
  • 卫生技术。智能医护正在成为现实。新州政府鼓励对数据挖掘、人工智能和机器人等领域的投资,从而充分利用这一转型带来的利益。我们有决心走在下一轮医疗科技革命的浪尖顶峰。
  • 殷实的国内市场需求。澳大利亚是全球第12大医药销售市场,规模位居亚太地区第二。
  • 本地专长。我们在医药技术和老年护理等关键子行业领域拥有专业知识。全球50所顶尖医学院中有两所(悉尼大学和新南威尔士大学)位于本州,我们拥有能支持健康和生命科学产业发展的专业技能和人才。

健康与生命科学发展举措

新南威尔士州的健康与生命科学企业借助无数公共及私人投资计划和举措,获得了无以伦比的支持与协助。

整合医护理念

作为新南威尔士州整合医护战略的一部分,州政府承诺在今后六年内投入1.8亿澳元,用于本地医疗卫生服务的系统性整合工程。目前本州有三个卫生服务区域—西悉尼、中部海岸和西部区域—正在试行这一方法。

技术开发和商业化

新南威尔士州政府每年为本州的医药设备基金拨款820万澳元,鼓励和支持在医疗器械与相关技术领域的投资及其成功商业化。

此外,新南威尔士州医疗设备商业化培训计划为医疗器械开发和商业化提供职业发展机会。

新南威尔士州日趋壮大的医疗技术知识中心已成为学术界、工业界和政府之间的合作承载工具。中心的侧重点是成功促成技术商业化。

生物技术

新南威尔士州的生物技术产业生机勃勃,支撑其背后的是领先世界的教育和研究机构网络。澳大利亚30%的生物技术公司以新南威尔士州为生产和运营基地,其中大部分企业位于悉尼,包括全球生物制药公司的本地代表处。他们包括:

大型医院与主要大学校园以及医学研究机构比邻为居,紧密连接的位置为工业界提供了无与伦比的互动机会,使他们能够与学术研究界展开实质性的合作,开发医疗和创新技术,并将这些成果推入市场。

新南威尔士州的主要生物技术城区位于:

  • 悉尼的兰德威克区(威尔士亲王医院/新南威尔士大学)
  • 悉尼的威斯敏区(威斯敏儿童医院)
  • 悉尼的坎珀当区(阿尔弗雷德王子医院)
  • 悉尼的达令赫斯特区(圣文森医院)
  • 亨特的新拉布敦区(约翰亨特医院/新英格兰大学/亨特医学研究所[HMRI])。

新南威尔士州政府还投资1200万澳元,创办了南半球首家同时也是规模最大的生物银行,运用机器人技术储存和处理数百万个用于研究的生物标本。

健康与生命科学产业目前的投资机会

依托领先的世界公共卫生系统,顶级研究机构和蓬勃发展的医疗和制药工业,新州是开发和营销新兴医疗技术的理想之地。

  • 威斯敏区。威斯敏区将在未来十年内得到开发重建,目前获确认的公共及私有投资已超过34亿澳元。此外,为能实现在2036年前将威斯敏区建设成为西悉尼一个真正的创新城区的目标,尚有总值24亿澳元的工程项目有待投资。这些投资将保障威斯敏的未来发展以及各个领域的开发能够成功实现,从而刺激西悉尼成为一个以知识为基础的就业和产业城区。毫无疑问,这代表了重要的投资机遇。
  • 医药科技。我们的医疗系统规模宏大,涵盖范围广泛,为希望将医疗应用技术成功商业化的技术创始人带来了真正大展拳脚的机会。此外,悉尼作为全球领先的金融中心(澳大利亚53家本地和外资银行中有43家的总部设在悉尼)为新州蓬勃发展的创业生态系统提供坚强后盾,使本州成为技术商业化当之无愧的首选地点。
Read more

您是否有兴趣投资悉尼和新州的健康及生命科学产业?请联系新南威尔士州投资咨询部了解详情。

On this page

Australia’s health epicentre

Australia’s national healthcare system is regarded as one of the world’s very best. In fact, it was ranked second in the world by the Commonwealth Fund.

At the epicentre of Australia’s health and life sciences sector, NSW has an operating budget of over $20 billion, with more than 228 hospitals and 114,000 full-time equivalent staff.  What’s more, almost all global pharmaceutical and medical device companies base their Australian operations in Sydney. Our state also enjoys extensive local and foreign investment. In 2016, international investors financed over $3.4 billion into Australia’s health and life sciences.

The NSW Government also invests in creating state-of-the-art health infrastructure. A record $8 billion is committed to major capital programs between 2018 and 2022. This investment will see entirely new hospital and healthcare facilities built, as well as upgrades and redevelopments to existing ones. From 2018 to 2026, NSW Health will invest over $500 million in eHealth initiatives to make sure its technology continues to support the delivery of quality health services.

An integrated approach to clinical care ensures continued sector growth. As such, the NSW Government designs and builds infrastructure in partnership with the private sector. Subsequently, our state is home to 109 private licensed day procedure centres and 98 licensed private hospitals.

Quick facts: NSW health and life sciences sector

Demand for investment in both health services and health technology in NSW is growing due to the following socio-demographic factors, market conditions and technology trends.

  • Economies of scale. NSW has the largest healthcare sector in Australia, representing 28% of Australia’s entire output.
  • Ageing population. Across Australia, demand for healthcare services continues to grow. The proportion of Australia’s population aged over 65 is forecast to increase from 15.5% in 2017 to 16.8% by 2022.
  • Growing demand from Asia. Australia’s healthcare services are experiencing unprecedented demand as Asia’s population ages and become more affluent. NSW is well placed to capitalise on this trend. We have a robust regulatory system, a reputation for quality and a globally-renowned healthcare system. We’re just hours away from many of Asia’s most important centres and have a skilled and multicultural workforce.
  • Health technologies. Smart healthcare is becoming a reality. By encouraging investment in areas such as data mining, artificial intelligence and robotics, NSW is capitalising on this transition. We intend on being at the forefront of the next wave of health technology.
  • Substantial domestic market. Australia has the 12th largest pharmaceutical sales market in the world and the second largest in the Asia Pacific.
  • Local specialists. We have specialist expertise in critical sub-sectors such as medical technology and aged care. With two medical schools in the top 50 globally (The University of Sydney and University of NSW), our state has the skills and talent to support a growing health and life sciences sector.

Health and life science initiatives

Health and life science businesses in NSW enjoy unparalleled support and assistance through numerous public and private initiatives.

Integrating care

As part of the New South Wales Integrated Care Strategy, the NSW Government committed $180 million over six years to integrating local care at a system-wide level. Three areas — Western Sydney, Central Coast and Western New South Wales Local Health Districts —are piloting this approach.

Development and commercialisation

The NSW Medical Devices Fund receives funding of $8.2 million a year to encourage and support investment in the development and commercialisation of medical devices and related technologies in NSW.

Meanwhile, the NSW Medical Device Commercialisation Training Program provides career development opportunities in medical device development and commercialisation.

NSW is also home to the growing NSW Medical Technology Knowledge Hub, a vehicle for collaboration between academia, industry and government. The hub has a heavy commercialisation focus.

Biotechnology

World-leading education and research institutions underpin NSW's vibrant biotech industry. Our state is home to 30% of Australia’s biotech companies, and most of these are located in Sydney, including local representatives of global biopharmaceutical companies such as:

The co-location of major hospitals with major university campuses and medical research institutes offers an unparalleled opportunity for industry to meaningfully engage with the research community in developing treatments and innovations and bringing them to market.

Key biotechnology precincts in NSW are located in:

  • Randwick, Sydney (Prince of Wales Hospital/University of NSW)
  • Westmead, Sydney (Westmead Children’s Hospital)
  • Camperdown, Sydney (Royal Prince Alfred Hospital)
  • Darlinghurst, Sydney (St Vincent’s Hospital)
  • New Lambton, Hunter Valley (John Hunter Hospital/University of New England/Hunter Medical Research Institute HMRI).

NSW has also invested in a $12 million Biobank, which is the first and largest facility of its kind in the southern hemisphere and uses robotic technology to store and process millions of bio-specimens for research.

Current investment opportunities in health and life sciences

With a state-of-the-art healthcare system, top research institutions and thriving medical and pharmaceutical industries, NSW is the ideal location to develop and market new medical technologies.

  • Westmead. More than $3.4 billion of public and private investment has been committed to rebuilding Westmead over the next decade. A further $2.4 billion of projects required to transform Westmead into Western Sydney’s first true innovation District by 2036 has also been identified. These investments in Westmead’s future growth and development will stimulate the creation of new, knowledge-based, jobs and industries in Western Sydney, providing significant opportunities for investors.
  • MedTech. The size and scope of our health system mean there are real opportunities for technology founders looking to commercialise medical technology applications. Additionally, the thriving startup ecosystem in NSW, supported by Sydney’s status as a leading global finance hub (43 of Australia’s 53 local and foreign-owned banks are headquartered in Sydney) makes the state a natural location for commercialising technology.
Read more

Interested in finding out about the health and life sciences opportunities in Sydney and NSW? Speak to the NSW Investment Concierge today.