On this page

悉尼是澳大利亚金融科技企业的聚集地

您立足新南威尔士州,有机会塑造全球金融的未来。悉尼名列金融科技中心全球排行榜第五位,以引领改变未来金融和相关技术面貌而享誉卓著。

作为新州的州府城市,悉尼吸引了全国金融科技风险投资的主要份额,总计约1.71亿澳元。澳大利亚近60%的金融科技企业以悉尼为基地。正是这一领先的行业地位和投资增长潜力引致无数新创和现有企业选择落户悉尼

本市拥有一些发展前途无量的金融科技初创企业,包括:

新南威尔士州政府资助的芬妮奖(Finnie Awards)专门表彰新兴技术和人才,以及在财富管理、支付、消费者信贷和众筹等方面有卓越表现的企业。

主要数据:悉尼和新南威尔士州的金融科技产业

选择新州和悉尼开展金融科技业务有何优势?以下是一些关键数据:

  • 新南威尔士州汇聚了近60%的澳大利亚金融科技初创企业,而且数量日趋快速增加
  • 2014年至2017年,本州金融科技产业发展迅猛,增长率达到480%。
  • 仅2016年一年,澳大利亚的25项金融科技投资项目就吸引投资6.75亿美元。
  • 2014年至2016年期间,悉尼获得的金融科技风险投资总额达到1.71亿美元,超过澳大利亚所有其他城市和地区。
  • 自2014年以来,澳大利亚金融科技风险投资公司数量增长了150%
  • 根据2017年创业调查公司Startup Genome公布的报告,悉尼是澳大利亚唯一 一个进入全球前20名的城市,其中新州汇集了全澳近三分之二的金融科技企业。

初创企业的理想之地

新南威尔士州政府和澳大利亚联邦政府致力建设一个扶持与鼓励金融科技产业发展壮大的生态系统。选择悉尼作,为您的金融科技初创公司的基地,将有助于您在全球金融行业中脱颖而出。

鼓励发展的环境

将您的企业落户在金融科技产业的中心地带。在以下这些悉尼初创企业孵化中心,与新兴技术的引领者密切互动,筹集资金并向融资专家取经学习。

  • 由州政府投资创办的金融服务知识中心将企业、研究机构和工业协会协调连接起来。Stone & Chalk在它的扶持下诞生,目前已发展成为亚太地区最大的金融科技中心,也是本州金融服务生态系统的核心组成部分,其成员包括24家澳大利亚和全球大型企业以及政府机构,支持金融科技产业全面拓展,涵盖范围包括支付技术、点对点技术、众筹平台、自动化顾问技术、资本市场以及加密货币。
  • H2 Ventures 是一家设在悉尼的早期阶段风险投资公司,专长投资像您一样的企业。通过其加速器计划,有才华的企业家、投资者和全球思想领袖共同制定能够影响世界金融行业的决策
  • 澳大利亚证券和投资委员会鼓励创新,为此发布了全世界首创的金融科技许可豁免政策,允许符合条件的金融科技企业在没有澳大利亚金融服务或信用许可证的情况下,对某些特定服务可进行长达12个月的测试。
  • 在悉尼金融核心区,您会看到Tyro金融科技中心。这是一个由多名金融科技企业家资助创办的空间,您在这里可以全面细致把握本地经济脉搏,寻找志同道合的创业者,探索发现可以成功拓展的领域。
  • 新南威尔士州政府深刻理解建立一个强大的创业社区的重要性,为此创办了悉尼创业孵化中心。作为南半球最大的初创企业孵化机构,未来五年内将有2500人迁入这幢高达11层楼的建筑,推动跨业务功能领域的整合以及合作。Fishburners是另一个初创企业加速器,也是悉尼创业孵化中心的众多租户之一。

金融科技产业目前的投资机会

悉尼和新州的金融科技领域目前存在大量投资机会。以下是部分最重要的发展趋势:

  • 多样性不断增长,包括在过去五年中澳大利亚金融科技初创企业数量增加了五倍。
  • 投资活动日益活跃,从2012年的5300万美元增加到2016年的6.75亿美元,包括并购、私募资金和风险投资。市场竞争激烈,而同时澳大利亚消费者对传统金融机构的忠诚度越来越低。调查显示,28%的千禧世代现在持有三家或更多金融机构的产品,为金融科技初创公司带来了更多商机。
  • 随着传统金融服务价值链受到分拆,金融科技和其他初创公司有机会针对消费者的特定情况进行痛点营销。
Read more

您是否有兴趣进一步了解悉尼和新州能够为金融科技公司创造的优势?请联系新南威尔士州投资咨询部获取量身定制的服务。

Case study: OnDeck uses Sydney as a springboard to success.

Cameron Poolman, Chief Executive Officer for OnDeck

After pioneering online small business lending in the US, OnDeck has come to Australia to provide alternative funding solutions to small companies.

The online lender has set up its Australian office in Sydney to take advantage of the city’s strong entrepreneurial culture and support for FinTech innovation. Being in Sydney has allowed OnDeck to easily access larger financial institutions and potential partners, and to be close to where its customers are.

Read more about OnDeck

On this page

Sydney is the home of Australian FinTech

From NSW, you can shape the global future of finance. Ranked 5th in the world in a global assessment of FinTech hubs, Sydney has a reputation for shaping the future of finance and tech.

NSW’s capital receives the major share of FinTech venture capital in the country — in the order of $171 million — with 60% of Australia's FinTech companies located in Sydney. It’s this industry standing and investment growth potential that have led many new and established companies to move to Sydney.

Some of the city’s promising FinTech startups currently include:

The Finnie Awards, supported by the NSW Government, recognises emerging tech and talent, as well as excellence in wealth management, payments, consumer lending, crowdfunding and more.

Quick facts: FinTech in Sydney and NSW

Why make Sydney and NSW a base for your FinTech business? Read some of our key statistics:

  • NSW is home to almost 60% of FinTech startups in Australia, and that number is growing fast.
  • NSW’s FinTech sector experienced a 480% growth rate from 2014 to 2017.
  • In 2016, $US675 million was invested in Australian FinTech across 25 deals.
  • Between 2014 and 2016, Sydney received $US171 million in FinTech-related venture capital, more than anywhere else in Australia.
  • Australian FinTech venture capital firms have grown by 150% since 2014.
  • Sydney is the only Australian city to rank in the top 20 globally in the Startup Genome’s 2017 report, with NSW home to almost two-thirds of Australia’s FinTech companies.

An easy place to startup

The NSW and Australian Governments are committed to building an ecosystem in which FinTech businesses are nurtured and encouraged. Here’s how a Sydney base will help your FinTech startup make its mark in the global financial industry.

An environment that encourages growth

Situate your company at the centre of FinTech. Touch base with tech’s emerging leaders, raise capital and learn from other financiers at one of the following Sydney hubs.

  • The NSW Government funds the Financial Services Knowledge Hub to bring together businesses, research organisations and industry associations. Through this hub, Stone & Chalk was born. Stone & Chalk is now the Asia Pacific’s largest FinTech hub and a central component of the state’s financial services ecosystem. The hub attracts membership from 24 large Australian and global corporations and government. The hub supports the growth across the full spectrum of the FinTech landscape, including payments, peer-to-peer, crowdfunding, automated advice, capital markets, and cryptocurrencies.
  • H2 Ventures is a Sydney early-stage venture capital firm looking to invest in businesses just like yours. Through its accelerator program, talented entrepreneurs, investors and world thought leaders come together to make decisions that impact world finance.
  • The Australian Securities and Investment Commission encourages innovation and has released a world-first class waiver to allow eligible FinTech businesses to test certain specified services for up to 12 months without an Australian financial services or credit licence.
  • In the heart of Sydney’s financial district, you’ll find Tyro FinTech Hub. Backed by FinTech entrepreneurs, this is a space where you can put your finger on the local economic pulse, find like-minded business owners and discover growth areas.
  • The NSW Government is serious about building a stronger entrepreneurial community through its Sydney Startup Hub. As the largest startup hub in the southern hemisphere, with 11 floors to accommodate up to 2,500 people over the next five years, there’s scope for cross-functional business areas to merge and collaborate. Startup accelerator, Fishburners, is one of the hubs many tenants.

Current investment opportunities in FinTech

There are opportunities right now for FinTech investment in Sydney and NSW. Here are some of the most significant trends.

  • Growing diversity, including a five-fold increase in the number of Australian FinTech startups in the past five years.
  • Increased investment activity, rising from $US53 million in 2012 to more than $US675 million in 2016. This includes mergers and acquisitions, private equity and venture capital investments.More competition, with Australia’s consumers increasingly less loyal to traditional financial institutions. 28% of Gen Y respondents now hold products with three or more institutions, creating increased opportunities for FinTech startups.
  • Unbundling of the traditional financial services value chain, giving FinTech and other startups the chance to solve specific customer pain points.
Read more

Interested what Sydney and NSW can offer FinTech companies? Speak to the NSW Investment Concierge for personalised service.

Case study: OnDeck uses Sydney as a springboard to success.

Cameron Poolman, Chief Executive Officer for OnDeck

After pioneering online small business lending in the US, OnDeck has come to Australia to provide alternative funding solutions to small companies.

The online lender has set up its Australian office in Sydney to take advantage of the city’s strong entrepreneurial culture and support for FinTech innovation. Being in Sydney has allowed OnDeck to easily access larger financial institutions and potential partners, and to be close to where its customers are.

Read more about OnDeck